Home > Cyber life > Compare blogger and wordpress hosting

Compare blogger and wordpress hosting

Recently I have been searching and evaluating free blog hosting sites. Here I list some of my findings.

Blogger.com

  • Good:
    • allow customize CSS
    • allow Google adsense.
    • support email to blog
  • Not good
    • updated images saved to my google picasaweb album. Yes I have 1 GB space there but I don’t want my blog pictures to be mixed with my photo albums. Tha’s very messy.
    • editing site blocked by my company firewall (not a matter for you guys of course)

WordPress.com

  • Good:
    • more powerful editing option. Image formating is more convenient.
    • updated images saved in same blog.
    • import and export tools so it makes it (relatively) easy to move your blog to and from this hosting.
  • Not good:
    • have to pay $15/year to customize theme.
    • does not allow adsense or any kind of it
    • no email to blog (yet)

Both hosting service can create multiple blogs from one account. Free 50 MB file storage.

Categories: Cyber life Tags:
  1. Idetrorce
    December 15, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    very interesting, but I don’t agree with you
    Idetrorce

  2. calvin998
    December 17, 2007 at 4:20 pm

    Actually here I have a post to explain why I moved from blogger to wordpress.com http://calvin998space.blogspot.com/2007/12/moving-to-wordpresscom.html.

    It’s not a clear win but I would like to hear your recommendation.

  3. May 25, 2009 at 11:06 am

    Calvin, I’d like to give blogger a try and compare it to wordpress.com, but I can’t figure out how to export info. from wp to blogger. Can you help? Thanks.

    • calvin998
      May 27, 2009 at 8:40 pm

      On WordPress’ Admin interface, click Tools->Export, then you can export all your postings to a xml file (sorry your images won’t be exported). Then in blogger.com’s admin interface, click Settings, and you will see “import blog” link at the top part of the page.
      Calvin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

